Meet the Central Stags: Complete Roster with Star Players Ajaz Patel and Dane Cleaver

The 19th edition of the Super Smash starts on December 19, 2023, and runs until January 28, 2024. Six teams will participate in the T20 league, with four teams from the North Island and two from the South Island.

The Central Stags, based on the North Island, have been the third most successful team in the tournament’s history, winning titles in 2008, 2009, and 2018. They finished fourth in the 2022/23 Super Smash, with Tom Bruce as their captain and Jayden Lennox as the leading wicket-taker.

This season, Dane Cleaver will lead the team, which includes internationally capped players such as Tom Bruce, Will Young, Ajaz Patel, Blair Tickner, Seth Rance, and Doug Bracewell. Ben Smith, Bayley Wiggins, and Josh Clarkson make up a strong middle order in the batting lineup.

Led by Ajaz Patel, the bowling unit looks well-rounded with the combination of Jayden Lennox, Blair Tickner, and Seth Rance. All-rounders like Bracewell, Bevan Small, and William Clark add depth to the team.

With their rich history and a blend of seasoned players, the Central Stags are determined to vie for their fourth title in the Super Smash as they face the Northern Braves in their first game on December 22, 2023.