Unfortunate Absences: Three Players Overlooked for India’s South Africa T20I Squad

Team India has announced a strong contingent for their upcoming tour of South Africa, featuring three T20Is, three ODIs, and two Tests. Suryakumar Yadav will lead the Men in Blue in the shortest format, with Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli making themselves unavailable for the white-ball leg. The squad for the T20I series includes players like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and others. However, some notable players like Sanju Samson, Avesh Khan, and Axar Patel were not included in the T20I squad. Sanju Samson, who has been in and out of the ODI and T20I squads, has been included as a backup wicket-keeper for the ODIs. Avesh Khan, on the other hand, has not been selected for the T20I series, despite showing improvement in the last series against Australia. Similarly, Axar Patel, who has bowled well in the ongoing T20I series against Australia, was also not included in the T20I squad for South Africa. Overall, the squad for the upcoming tour seems to have some notable omissions, sparking debates about player selections.