Young Guns Jannik Sinner & Carlos Alcaraz Outshine Roger Federer with Big Wins

Carlos Alcaraz crowned 2023 Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award winner, delighting tennis fans.

Alcaraz’s win over Grigor Dimitrov, Hubert Hurkacz and Jannik Sinner marked the fourth occasion where a Spaniard earned the honor, following Jose Higueras, Alex Corretja, and Rafael Nadal.

The International Tennis Writers’ Association (ITWA) selected the nominees, with Alcaraz being chosen from the shortlist by his peers. This win follows an 18-year dominance by Roger Federer and Nadal, who collectively won the award 18 times.

Furthermore, with Jannik Sinner claiming the ATP Fans’ Favorite Award, fans expressed their pleasure at the duo dominating the categories. A fan expressed surprise at the outcome, while another defended Alcaraz’s win against detractors.

In addition, former coach Patrick Mouratoglou discussed the potential of Alcaraz, Sinner, and Rune in comparison to Novak Djokovic, emphasizing the need for further development to consistently challenge the Serb.